June 30, 2018

On Waking Up

I had to wake up early today and while I've definitely havent been resting over the summer I have been indulging myself in at least 9 hours of sleep a night. But I had to wake up at 5 today, which only gave me 5 hours of sleep (I know I should have maybe gone to sleep earlier). Waking up after 5 hours of sleep gave me the worst feeling ever, not necessarily of sleep deprivation, but of deja-vu. When I was finishing up my bachelor’s thesis I was probably only sleeping 4 hours a night for 6 weeks straight and when I handed it in I slept for 26 hours straight and the promptly told myself I would never do that again. This morning when I dragged myself out of bed it felt like I was back in the dorms dragging myself out of bed to trudge back into the lab I had only left 5 hours ago. I think it just reinforces that I can’t push myself like that anymore.